load  Loading... Please wait...

Mattress Reviews

 

Texas Mattress Makers is the most reviewed mattress store on Yelp in Houston!

Review our Store:

Yelp
Google
Facebook

Read Unbiased Consumer Reviews Online at AngiesList.com
angieslist.com/review/8627151

You can also review your mattress at the bottom of the product page!

  • 12/10/155 star matress store review
    After weeks of searching for "the" mattress that I needed to continue recovery from a two level lumbar disc replacement, a left repaired shoulder for a torn rotator cuff and two knee replacement surgeries done May 2015. I finally decided to check out Texas Mattress Makers. I prepared for today's visit by checking their YELP history. Wow! I read all of the positive comments former customers posted. I was really impressed to see that a company responded by explaining and even apologizing to a actual customer! I had to see this place! I parked near the entrance. Old building, clean parking lot. I opened the door and entered. I was immediately welcomed by a African-American employee with the sweetest smile. As I entered the clean product display area, I was approached by Lax who asked if he could help me. I told him of my health challenges. He questioned whether I slept on my back or side.He guided me to "the" mattress! I lay there and I could feel the neck, spine and knee support. We talked about cost, price points and the 10 year guarantee. Phenomenal customer service! Thank you Lax! Look YELPERS, don't waste your valuable time with those huge corporate national mattress companies. For great customer service, quality and price, go to Texas Mattress Makers. I saved$$$$.****After a few weeks on "the" mattress, it became a little noticeably "soft" for my repaired lumbar spine and knees. I called them Thursday and explained my situation. Lax, "customer extraordinaire"ordered another mattress be made for me, this time adding some gel to my latex-based mattress. They delivered my bed to me 10/31/2015 Saturday, all covered and shielded from the flooding rainstorm.Thanks Lax for understanding my orthopedic needs. Sleeping like a baby, Eula.
    - Eula Bush M.

  • 12/09/155 star matress store review
    We had been long overdue for a new mattress and and after having wonderful sleep on a vacation, decided we couldn't sleep on our old mattress anymore. Mattress shopping is not something we were looking forward to, and while researching I discovered TMM. I loved the idea of supporting a local business and purchasing a mattress that was good value for the money. We stopped in on Labor Day to take advantage of the sale. Lax was very patient with us, educating us about different mattresses and helping us to find the right one. We were torn between the Barcelona and Rome mattresses, and decided on the Rome. After the first night on our new mattress, my husband said his lower back discomfort was gone. I needed a few weeks however to adjust as I slept hot the first few nights, but switched to a thinner mattress protector and summer weight down comforter and that did the trick. I love that I now wake refreshed and ready for the day every morning. My only regret is that we didn't purchase the new mattress sooner! We also have plans to upgrade our guest room mattress soon with another purchase at TMM.
    - Heather D.

  • 11/26/155 star matress store review
    It was time to get a new mattress and my wife suggested we check out The Texas Mattress Makers. I looked them up on Yelp and honestly was leery of all the 5star reviews. Seemed too good to be true. After seeing the beds offered in the showroom and talking to the sales staff, especially the owner Youvall. I was sold. Bought the mattress on a Sunday, they told me it would be delivered on Thursday and it showed up right on time. After two weeks of sleeping on this cloud of luxury I know I made the correct decision.
    - Mark B.

  • 11/19/155 star matress store review
    I promised them I would write a review because we had such a fabulous mattress-buying experience. I waited a few months to make sure I was 100% satisified with my mattress, and I finally feel ready to share that I am. My boyfriend and I visited the warehouse just to look around when we decided we were ready to upgrade to a king. The staff was helpful but not at all pushy. Since they make the mattresses right there at the factory, no one tries to upsell or finagle you. We found a mattress we kinda liked, but while we were lying on it, our salesperson approached and asked us to tell him about our sleep styles. I'm a back sleeper and my boyfriend is a side/stomach sleeper, so he moved us from the really fancy, expensive mattress to a cheaper one that was better suited to our contrasting sleep styles. Who does that!? We decided to think about it and come back so that we felt confident in our decision. They checked to make sure I would be able to finance the mattress (they do interest-free financing though Synchrony Bank, which I've used before) and gave us the name of the mattress on a pamphlet so we could just come back and pick it right out. Our actual buying experience was perfect. They had us relax on the mattress for a while, gave us instructions on what to do when we got it home (since I'm little they suggested running up and down my side to soften it a little) and sat down to do the paperwork. The store was having a special to celebrate their anniversary so we got a discount off the mattress, plus a low delivery fee since we live pretty close. The delivery guys came two days later, set up the frame and assembled the low-profile box spring and put the SUPER heavy mattress on top. Finally, the mattress. We got the Rome king-size and it is heavenly. Memory foam/gel hybrid layer on top of small comfort coil springs on top of more memory foam on top of tall comfort coil springs. It doesn't get super hot like regular memory foam, and it's just enough mushy give for me as a back sleeper but enough support for my boyfriend to sleep on his stomach without his back arching too far. We both adore the mattress and are totally satisfied with our entire buying experience. Go to this place. Buy their products. Go back. They are local and amazing and deserve all the success in the world.
    - Lisa R.

  • 11/16/155 star matress store review
    What is better than getting the milk directly from the cow? Or, in this case, the bed from the maker? Texas Mattress Makers is the offshoot of Noah's Manufacturing, a company that has been making mattresses and furniture in Houston for almost 30 years. Originally, they sold to retail, but three years ago, they opened a showroom at their factory to sell directly to the public. We had some special needs. My husband is a big guy and has a bad back. We were going to buy something kind of middle range and my husband asked if the bed would last. Suddenly, a tall thin man, said, "absolutely not!" We found out that he was the owner, Youval. He explained what type of mattress would last and would be best for my husband's needs. The coolest thing was that since they make the mattresses there, he told our sales person what specifications to put in the order to have the bed be even be more specific to our needs. We visited on Sunday. The bed will be made by Wednesday, and delivered on Thursday! And it has a 10 year, non prorated guarantee! I highly recommend.
    - Christine K.

  • 11/14/155 star matress store review
    I have purchased from Texas Mattress before but that was online and it was in preparation for guests that would be staying with me for a bit and they would pay me back for the mattress. Still a good experience, BUT it is on the recent purchase of a new mattress that I got to see their customer service shine. I went to their showroom right next to the factory. I don't remember the sales person name but I picked a mattress and planned on picking it up 3 days later. When I went to pick up the finished mattress, one of the guys went to get the mattress and realized they built the wrong one. Wonk wonk. Before I had a chance to get upset, he told me they built a higher grade and I could take it, if I liked it (at no additional charge) or they would build the mattress I did order and have it delivered to me that afternoon. Well I took the higher grade mattress. Turned out it was TWICE as much I spent. I work in Customer Service, so I know it when I see it. First, they acknowledged they made a mistake and apologized. Second, they gave me options on how they would make it right. And they did! My son loves his new bed. I would recommend this place to anyone.br />- N.L.

  • 10/31/155 star matress store review
    The owner helped us pick the perfect set. One that was perfect for our type of sleep. We bought a king and have been sleeping on it for months and still love it. Saved us thousands.
    - Ana H.

  • 09/30/155 star matress store review
    Had a great experience at Texas Mattress Makers. Spent the morning at mattress firm and browsed their selection. The way MF does sales surprises me. When someone is buying a mattress, they usually care about two main factors: price + comfort. It makes sense to ask about price before jumping into the most expensive mattresses. However, Mattress firm did not do this: the sales person had me try out their top of the brand mattresses before we started talking about price which is when he realized that I could not afford any of the top mattresses they had. He quoted me a price for a mattress but it turned out to be a clearance item. I was not happy. I checked out Texas Mattress Makers after a referral from a friend. From the outside, it looks like a large warehouse/factory. Don't be fooled because that's exactly what it is! However, they also have space for a beautiful showroom. I was greeted by Lax and was surprised with his calm demeanor. Aren't sales people supposed to be extremely pushy? Lax definitely was not, and neither were any of his staff. This model worked extremely well. They gave me the time to try out the different mattresses without breathing down my neck. Lax actually listened to my concerns and helped me pick out the perfect mattress for me. We talked through my options, and since I told him the mattress I was buying was not going to be a permanent one, he said to buy one of their cheaper models. This surprised me as well since sales people usually try to sell you their most expensive product. Lax truly cares about the customer and does not try to sell you something you do not want. After purchasing my mattress, I talked to Lax some more about his past and learned a little about his life history. He had an interesting story and he was happy to tell me about it. I had a great experience here and will definitely buy my next mattress from TMM.
    - Rushi P.

  • 09/07/155 star matress store review
    Great locally made product, great customer service, and great prices! The company's been making mattresses for 27 years, and have been selling direct to the public for 3 years. The warehouse has lots of mattress options to fit everyone's preferences, and our salesman was very knowledgeable and helpful. We also liked the opportunity to give ourselves a percentage discount by playing darts. My husband's expert throwing skills earned us a 15% discount.
    - Lynne N.

  • 09/02/155 star matress store review
    After weeks of searching for "the" mattress that I needed to continue recovery from a two level lumbar disc replacement, a left repaired shoulder for a torn rotator cuff and two knee replacement surgeries done May 2015. I finally decided to check out Texas Mattress Makers. I prepared for today's visit by checking their YELP history. Wow! I read all of the positive comments former customers posted. I was really impressed to see that a company responded by explaining and even apologizing to a actual customer! I had to see this place! I parked near the entrance. Old building, clean parking lot. I opened the door and entered. I was immediately welcomed by a African-American employee with the sweetest smile. As I entered the clean product display area, I was approached by Lax who asked if he could help me. I told him of my health challenges. He questioned whether I slept on my back or side.He guided me to "the" mattress! I lay there and I could feel the neck, spine and knee support. We talked about cost, price points and the 10 year guarantee. Phenomenal customer service! Thank you Lax! Look YELPERS, don't waste your valuable time with those huge corporate national mattress companies. For great customer service, quality and price, go to Texas Mattress Makers. I saved$$$$.
    - Eula Bush M.

  • 08/08/155 star matress store review
    Friendly service and very affordable mattresses! They made sure that we found a mattress that fit both of our needs (not too hard and not too soft) and the price was 1/4th of what we were quoted at Mattress Firm and Gallery Furniture. And they delivered it 2 days after we ordered it!
    - Tabeen I.

  • 06/06/155 star matress store review
    The first bed I tried out at the factory was the Athens Gel Hybrid. Ohhh man! It was so comfortable I just had to have it, even though it was way over my budget. Based on my sleeping patterns, the sales guy even tried to talk me out of it and point me to another bed that was half the price. He seemed genuinely concerned that I get a mattress suited to my sleep style (hot, side sleeper). Well, I wasn't having any of that! Today is one week later and they just delivered it. Excellent craftsmanship and locally made. Couldn't feel better about this purchase. I don't think I could have gotten a bed like this for a better price. And to top it off, they hauled my lame old Tempurpedic away.
    - J.P.H.

  • 05/16/155 star matress store review
    If I could give it 10 stars, I would! Locally owned & products manufactured onsite, this is the kind of place where I'd always prefer to spend my money. The neighborhood is very industrial, the signage isn't great, but when you're inside they greet you warmly and their showroom is setup in such a way that you can easily find the price point and comfort level that you're looking for. With no high-pressure tactic. I made my purchase on a Tuesday, they called me on Wednesday and gave me a two-hour window within which they'd deliver, and came on Thursday with our new bed precisely when they'd promised. As highly of a recommendation as I can give!s
    - Monica B.

  • 05/14/155 star matress store review
    My parents, married 65 years, & I, disabled, researched mattress brands and la reina decided Texas Mattress Maker. Reps educated us on which mattress would be best for us. The owner saw the difficulty I had boarding and dismounting the mattresses. He introduced me to a mattress that I could easily lift my legs on & off but couldn't afford the cost. Asking my affordability I sheepishly told he believing he couldn't meet it he did, honor above costs. A overly generous gesture he showed not only to me but also to my parents. Thank you Texas Mattress Makers
    - Luis S.

  • 03/03/155 star matress store review
    We couldn't be happier with our purchases! I admire their way of doing business. They help their customers find the mattress/sofa that each customer feels the most comfortable. They never push to sell higher priced items. They listen. Based on different customers' need, budget and preference, they suggest the best one. -Mattress: lay down, feel it! That's exactly what we were told to do, lay down each mattress as long as you like. The boss was patient and nice to help us find the perfect mattress for us. Not the most expensive one, not the prettiest one, but the one we feel most comfortable with! He explained into details about how mattresses differ, how they are constructed inside, how your body shapes on the top of different mattresses. They care what you got! Unlike other chain mattress firm, the sales would be like "you want this one? Okay, $$$$$". The entire mattress-hunting there was pleasant and the boss was very humorous!!! You got to talk to the boss if you visit the store. The delivery was awesome too! -Sofa: after we purchased the mattress for a few weeks, we decided to buy sofa and love seat from here! We went to the sofa/sectional show room to see all kinds of different styles. We ordered our customized sofa literally by selecting sofa A's style, sofa B's color, sofa C's cushion firmness and sofa D's pillow. We also got the chance to choose fabric for the accent chair out of hundreds of choices...The boss even told us if we can not decide which one to go, we could always come back with a photo of the style we like and they will make it! Too awesome to be true, right? LOL. We are still expecting our sofa. I hope everything turns out well. I will update later. Did not realize I already wrote so much. In short, I highly highly recommend this store. Pay a visit and you will be surprised, not by a fancy showroom, but by qualify products and down-to-the-earth attitude of doing business.
    - Zoey Z.

  • 02/23/155 star matress store review
    Great experience!! Lax, the manager, is extremely helpful & it's clear his top priority is making sure we find the mattress that fits our needs best. The whole staff is helpful& very informative. I've been to other mattress stores, but this is by far the best. Just a heads up, they only do deliveries on Thursday!
    - Kendall J.

  • 02/23/155 star matress store review
    Stopped by Saturday with wire and 2 young uns in tow. My toddler was in the midst of a major terrible two tantrum but the salesman knew how to help. While explaining coil size and so much more, he took us through the manufacturing area since the workers weren't there. He then took off a fine spring set that he explained to us and asked us to lay on it. Springs alone would have been fantastic! Then he encouraged the kids to jump and away they went jumping like on a trampoline. It also serves to demonstrate the strength and confidence he had in the springs. Impressive and I don't impress easily. He worked with us for a price that easily beat competitors and mattress would be custom made. We were sold on the spot. He wasn't pushy. He was patient. And he was fair. Best of all, our daughters loved him! Product is all locally made in Texas so dollars are staying local. I have no regrets!
    - Don H.

  • 02/22/155 star matress store review
    Stumbled upon this local business by accident. We went to one of the chain nearby, narrowed our choices down, then tried to compare prices...of course found out different vendors had different names so it was a nightmare comparing them. Then few weeks back the wife sent me this yelp link...and all the good reviews. We decided to check it out during our lunch break. Lax helped us out, not pushy and very friendly and informative. We then brought the family out and everyone picked their fave. We expect delivery this coming weekend and can't wait to sleep on them. Thanks Lax!
    - Franklin J.

  • 01/22/155 star matress store review
    After my storage unit flooded and destroyed all of my furniture, I found myself in the market for a new mattress. Considering I had to replace almost everything in my apartment, I wasn't looking to spend a lot on a mattress, but I also didn't want to compromise on comfort. I was referred to Texas Mattress Makers by a friend, and told us that Lax would help me find what I was looking for. Lax was extremely helpful and very knowledgable of each of the mattresses they had in the showroom. He was able to work with my budget and find me the perfect mattress. I have had it for a few months now and still sleep great each night. Highly recommend them! Plus, it's pretty cool to watch through the windows of their show room and see all the mattresses being built in the warehouse.
    - Allison H.

  • 01/12/155 star matress store review
    Found this place from yelp and great reviews. So this gloomy rainy cold day I came in to compare mattress with mattress firm. Same softness of mattress and quality- mattress firm $1500 Texas mattress $600. Lax was great assistance and helping me find a mattress. Go to Lax. Go to Texas Mattress you will not regret it.
    - Nate M.

  • 11/03/145 star matress store review
    This was our first and last stop for our new mattress. My husband likes to research products before we make a big purchase, so after reading reviews and hearing radio ads, we decided to give these folks a shot. We worked with Lex during our visit and he gave us a lot of great information without trying to sell us just another expensive mattress. He made sure we understood the different aspects of the proper mattress for our personal preferences. If you're looking to buy a quality mattress from good people, this is the place to go! You will not be disappointed!
    - Aimee B.

  • 09/26/145 star matress store review
    Texas Mattress Makers is a company with true passion in their sales force, pride in their products, and focus on the customer. I like to plan ahead and find great deals, do thorough research, and take my time with decisions. I looked into several different mattress stores in the Houston area, and a lot had mixed reviews. These guys didn't so they were my first place to visit after doing some research. As they are a local manufacturer and with me being new to the area, the store front was a little hard to find. When you walk in, it's not a fancy looking facility, more like a classed up warehouse with a plethora of different beds to try. The show room could use a little TLC to make it seem a little more homey, but my end game was to buy a mattress and the facility very clean so there's no reason to complain. Lax, my salesman, was a great person. The sales people are hands off unless you want help, and they will help you without pushing you one way or another. They are there to find the RIGHT mattress for you, not to upsell you. I spent maybe an hour and thirty minutes talking with him, trying out beds, and discussing anything and everything. Highly recommend him and his boss was a funny man as well! I walked out of there with a mattress for not only the great cost, quality, and comfort, but also because of their commitments: - Warranty: The mattress I purchased has a 10 year warranty - Green: For every tree they use in production, they plant seven - USA: 100% made in the USA, and locally manufactured. I felt no buyers remorse not visiting any other locations. I sleep better on my new mattress now than I ever have before. These guys are the best of the best in the area - go visit them if you need a mattress!
    - Alexander D.

  • 09/24/145 star matress store review
    I'm the kind of person who does a lot of research before they make a large purchase on something like furniture, vehicles, or in this case, a mattress. I've seen these guys commercials on TV and heard their radio ads for months while I was shopping for a mattress, and decided to do some research on them. As you can see they have amazing reviews on Yelp, for good reason, and looking online at trusted websites like MattressUnderground who endorse these people, I decided to give them a visit a few months ago. Everyone in my house sleeps on a mattress from Texas Mattress Makers right now. It is such an awesome experience learning about different mattresses, the materials used in them, why they work with certain constructions to give you the feel you want for the best sleep you need. I was given the tour by Noah himself around the facility where he showed me and my family the process of making the mattresses they sell, what goes into them, and what would best suit our needs. He took the time to sit down and go through the testing and decision process with us. This is not your typical mattress buying experience where you lay down on a bed for two minutes and a pushy salesman asks you if you want to buy it. At TMM they encourage you to spend a lot of time on the beds and see what works for you. They are knowledgeable about their products and what types of beds fit which type of people. As a stomach sleeper personally, I needed a firmer bed to alleviate some back pain I would have from sleeping on a mattress that was too soft. They were able to find what worked for me and I've been sleeping great for months now on my Santa Barbara. Once you visit these guys you will never buy a mattress from another place again. Buy local and from a business that cares about you.
    - Corian N.

  • 09/24/145 star matress store review
    This review has been two months in the making for the reason that I did not want to jump into praise on a new mattress/experience. I wanted to really take my time with this mattress, test it out, and give a review on a product that I firmly believed in. The buying experience: Located on the corner of Lockwood and Navigation, Texas Mattress Makers (TMM) is so huge you could almost miss it...and backtrack to it immediately, because it is an experience you do not want to miss out on. You wont find any Sealy, Serta, or any other name-brand mattresses here. They are the brand, and everything they make is in-house. They take pride in their product like only a person who manufacture's and works with their product can. Our salesperson, Lax, listened to our needs and gave us such a thorough lesson that I almost forgot we were shopping for mattresses and thought I was getting a lesson in anatomy. He walked us through the anatomical changes a person's body goes through as they sleep on different surfaces. It totally altered my perception of fabric, coils, and cloth, which before this moment was nil. I had heard mattress pro's toss these terms around (coil count, foam, etc), but they meant nothing to me. Lax didn't just break down the terms or show us a cross-section of a mattress, he took us to the back and showed us the raw materials and how they fit and influenced the mattress.We were able to see and lie on the internal components that would later become our mattresss, and this lent a whole new appreciation to the product we were buying. The aftermath: They say you don't realize how much you love something until it's gone, and I believe this mattress falls under that category. The first few nights were great; fell asleep faster than ever and woke up more rested than I've felt in YEARS! My only complaint is that it's so freaking comfortable I can't watch tv in bed, because my body just instantly relaxes to a deep, sweet slumber. Same for my husband, who is a self-proclaimed insomniac. Greatest sleep ever ! Of course, after a month you get used to it and you begin to forget just how great you have it. You take for granted the great nights sleep and the "I can take on this new day" feeling. That's where the story takes the twist. 2weeks ago, our son was sick and I had to sleep in the guest room to care for him. The guest mattress, we believed, has always been comfortable and people have raved to us in the past they got a great night sleep on it. However, after sleeping on the best, this was a notable downgrade. I tossed and turned all night, and when I woke up I was visibly crooked. My body ached and my back felt like I had scoliosis. It's amazing the physiological changes that occur in sleep, and just how important a good mattress is. While we paid a pretty penny, we got a mattress that will last the test of time (and if it doesn't, they assured us they can fix it...which I believe, since we took a tour through the manufacturing department) and the same mattress elsewhere would have cost 5x the amount, I know because we checked. In this regard, Texas Mattress is really undervalued. It is a haven to those with sleep issues, and a welcome we will seek for all our future furniture/mattress needs.
    - Libby G.

  • 09/15/145 star matress store review
    This is THE place to go for mattresses. Not only is the staff extremely respectful and knowledgable, but the mattresses are priced competitively and made well. Lax (the owner) immediately put me at ease and was able to find the best mattress to fit my needs. He also asks questions you wouldn't think of to make a personable, positive experience. This was definitely worth the drive, I will never go to a big name mattress store again!
    - Kelly R.

  • 07/20/145 star matress store review
    I was looking to buying a new mattress and foundation so I turned to Yelp to start. The last time I'd shop for a mattress was with my ex-girlfriend and she had a bad experience with Mattress Firm, so I chose to skip them. Decided to visit Texas Mattress Makers since they had solid reviews and I liked the idea of purchasing directly from a manufacturer. It looked as though they were expanding/remodeling the showroom and browsed without a problem. I really lucked out because they had a mattress/foundation model close-out on sale that was a perfect match for me comfort and style-wise. The sales guy was helpful, and offered free delivery since I lived nearby. I waited some time to review them because I wanted to test the mattress first. Overall great shopping experience, value and ease. Love my new bed! And have been getting much more restful sleep.
    -John P.

  • 07/10/145 star matress store review
    If God ever decided to get into the business of selling clouds, then He would need a retailer. But fortunately for us mere mortals, Texas Mattress Makers is already ahead of the pack, offering the closest that we can come to a heavenly crib. With the plethora of mattress stores around the city, beds are a dime a dozen these days, with exorbitant margins feeding into an overabundance of advertising. However, if you dare to be different, then I would highly recommend a visit to the Second Ward to check out Texas Mattress Makers, who have been making quality mattresses for almost 25 years, without the ridiculous markup of the national chains. From memory foam to spring coils, this store has a large selection to peruse, ranging from the mundane to the luxurious. As for myself, I immediately settled on the Florence, which layers memory foam on top of a set of coils, topped with a meshlike honeycomb cooling gel, that keeps your body at the ideal temperature whilst you slumber atop your personal cloud. Who knew that a mattress could be so high-tech? But most important of all, both Noah and Youval were some of the most courteous and respectful business professionals I have ever worked with, taking the time and the patience to explain the technology that they use and then letting us try each and every one of their mattresses in their showroom. Consider me a loyal customer. I know I'll be back again and again to try out their next latest and greatest slumber kits.
    - David Z.

  • 07/04/145 star matress store review
    I just bought a mattress from Texas Mattress Makers and highly recommend it if you are looking for a new mattress! The neighborhood the warehouse is in is a little shady but the showroom is very nice. There was a great selection - way more than the other mattress chain store I tried. The prices are incredible and the mattresses are of excellent quality. A comparable mattress bought elsewhere would have been at least twice the price, if not more. There is a delivery fee but it is very reasonable. Lax, who helped us out, was not pushy at all but was very knowledgeable and had great tips for mattress care. I never want to go anywhere else to buy a mattress! Don't even waste your time comparison shopping, do yourself a favor and go straight to Texas Mattress Makers.
    - Elizabeth J.

  • 07/01/145 star matress store review
    Buying a mattress isn't the sort of experience most people would get excited about, but when I found the reviews for Texas Mattress Makers I was hopeful they would be different. Let me tell you they did not disappoint!! We weren't very informed as far as mattresses go and Jeff did an amazing job of helping us understand the pros and cons of each style. He was really helpful and not pushy at all! He even gave us a tour of the factory. We're the kind of people that like to sleep on it (pun intended) so after thinking things over, we called the store to order over the phone. I spoke with Lax who again was a great representation of the sound customer service this establishment offers. All I can say is the experience here was so great, we almost wish mattresses had to be replaced more often!
    - Lindsay B.

  • 06/11/145 star matress store review
    Texas Mattress Makers is really THE place to shop for Mattresses. Lax was pretty awesome! We went in looking for two mattresses and bought three! The quality, time, and cost is top notch. Lax first asked us what we were currently sleeping on to point us in the right direction for the mattress. We were in and out within around 40min. I won't be going to other mattress locations other than this place from now on. Thanks Lax!
    - Rebecca S.

  • 06/03/145 star matress store review
    I first heard about Texas Mattress Makers from my mom who heard about it through a friend. We were in the market for a new mattress and after going to a couple of the big stores such as Mattress One and Mattress Firm, we decided to go check out Texas Mattress Makers. The show room is located on Navigation in second ward. I was hesitant because it looked a bit sketchy from the outside, a big warehouse and a small parking lot on the Lockwood side of the building. They manufacture commercial mattresses under the name Noah's Manufacturing Inc. They have been in business for 20 years and in 2012 decided to open the showroom to the public. We walked in and the showroom was simple, but spacious with around 25-30 beds. We were told that we needed to lie on a bed for 5-10 minutes to get the feel of it. We tried 4 beds and liked one of them until Noah came over and took us to one of their newest models made with the latest technology. The "Florence" blew our minds. This bed was amazing and so comfortable! It has a layer of gel honey comb that is supposed to be cool to touch and to allow air flow. The bed is also constructed with micro springs which mean better support and less movement (if your significant other tosses and turns). There are a couple of more layers each serving a different purpose. I can't remember them all, it was information overload. What is great about this place is that they actually show you what the inside of each bed looks like. Noah was very informative and was not pushy. He listened to our needs and showed us what they had to offer. We spent $3,000 on a king size bed, but after doing research a bed of this quality will cost at least $10,000 at the big name stores. Their warranty is unheard of 10 years FULL warranty. I don't think I will ever go anywhere else for a mattress. After we purchased the bed, Noah took us to the mattress factory to show us how our bed was going to be constructed. They were going to make our bed from scratch on site! If we really wanted to, we could've spent a couple of days at the factory and watch our bed being made. How awesome is that?? They are in the process of opening a showroom for couches/sofas, so I will definitely be back!
    - Tammy T.

  • 05/24/145 star matress store review
    Phenomenal! We went for a very specific reason, a guest bed. Noah asked us questions about our needs and comfort level for a mattress. He even told us he didn't want to sell us more than we needed. Awesome! We are very satisfied customers. This mattress purchase was painless and we didn't feel like a commissioned sales person over sold us. We will be back! Excellent product and customer service. The whole process took less than 1/2 an hour.
    - A G.

  • 04/19/145 star matress store review
    What a great experience. My wife and I were skeptical of buying a mattress from a lesser known brand name. But after trying the big names we narrowed it down to a Stearns and Foster Mattress. We visited Texas Mattress Makers and was blown away at how much more comfortable and well made their mattresses were. They not only had a great selection, but the owner and owner's son spent an hour with me to ensure we had the perfect mattress for our family. They weren't pushy at all. We bought a king "rome" mattress and couldn't be happier. Their price was also very competitive. I highly recommend these guys.
    - Jeff M.

  • 04/10/145 star matress store review
    I thought I slept well on my mattress until I tried one of these. Boy was I wrong! Thankyou Texas Mattress Makers for changing my poor sleep habit, my previously bad back and my life!
    - Layne S.

  • 03/31/145 star matress store review
    We promised our 15-yr-old son a new mattress for his Chrismtas gift, under the condition we would all go together to pick it out after Christmas. Well, December 27 rolls around and my husband and I looked at each other and thought, how in the world are we going to go spend $1200, minimum, on a new queen sized mattress after all we've spent this month. We almost had to renege the Christmas gift offer!!! But, I remembered there are a few local mattress companies and while I was doing research on these places, I came across Texas MM. Thank goodness! Do yourself a favor and don't EVER shop at the big chain stores again for a new mattress. This place makes it so simple and affordable and you feel good about supporting a family-owned business that makes their mattresses right there on location. I think we paid just around $650 for a high quality mattress/bed springs/ bedframe/delivery combination. We received excellent service with absolutely no pressure to buy anything. These guys are as good as it gets, you won't be sorry.
    - Rachel O.

  • 03/26/145 star matress store review
    Texas Mattress Makers is a great company. They are VERY customer service oriented. We bought a mattress as well as the incline for our platform bed. My husband is no longer having heartburn, sleeps later and his snoring has stopped. We are both sleeping a lot better. We also like shopping and keeping our money local. Texas Mattress Makers makes this possible and their service is incredible. We will never buy anywhere else. Thanks for your great Customer Service!!!!!
    - Vicki L.

  • 03/24/145 star matress store review
    I think what you are looking at here is a hidden Houston gem! I found this place from researching mattresses which lead me to a forum called themattressunderground - which is a wealth of info, but it lead me to a detailed list of local places to check. From what I understand, Texas Mattress Makers is really the public front for Noahs MFG, which is a private label and hotel industry mattress maker. They have been making mattresses for 50 years, and recently decided to open a showroom for the public because they feel like the big chain stores are ripping people off (which they are) I had an older Tempurpedic (which I am happy to be rid of) that had a huge soft spot in the middle, which gave me bad back pain I met with a guy named Lax, who was a LOT of fun to deal with. Lax is going to make sure you understand why different beds fit different people.. well differently, so pay attention to his guidance, cause he knows what he is talking about. I also would like for you to go into the store with the mindset that what you are looking at is some serious craftsman ship. I did a lot of research on beds and how they are made prior to going here, and I believe that you're looking at some pretty interesting works of art here. If you go inner coil, these guys use a coil made by Legget and Platt, which is the same pocketed coils used in the high dollar VI Spring mattresses that retail in the 10k to 26k range. Not only that, but in the underground industry, this manufacturer is highly regarded for their high quality materials and construction techniques. When you walk in, you are going to freak out a little, cause it doesn't look like what you are expecting to find there... this isn't Cantoni's, but just look right past that, find their showroom and find Lax.
    - Jay H.

  • 03/04/145 star matress store review
    This is the best place to go for your mattress needs! The staff is very friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. They ask you questions you wouldn't even think of asking to help get you what you need. Not everyone can use one specific type of mattress, and they know that. From basic to customizable, Texas Mattress Makers has what anyone would need. I'm so thankful these people really know what they're doing!
    - Amber P.

  • 01/10/145 star matress store review
    I always felt like I was getting ripped off at the big commercial mattress stores, but not here. Lax was very helpful in finding the right fit for me, and I will be buying from them until I'm out of Texas. Support local businesses and do yourself a favor by going to Texas mattress makers!!!
    - Andrew D.

  • 11/24/135 star matress store review
    (The review by Valerie S. is pretty much on point, but I just wanted to write my own so that more people can know that this place exists & help support local businesses.) After purchasing a mattress from Texas Mattress Makers there is absolutely NO WAY that I'd ever purchase a mattress from a leading seller. (Unless I moved out of Houston, I suppose) We had a great experience visiting the showroom to pick out a mattress. Our sales person was also very knowledgeable. He was very courteous & friendly when it came to working with our budget ($250-$400); he only showed us mattresses within that price range & really only let us try out the higher end models so that we could compare differences. Not once did he try to push us into spending more, nor was he condescending when we told him what we could afford. We settled on a $385 model that probably would've cost us double anywhere else. We visited on a Monday & the mattress was ready by Friday for us to pick up. Verdict: Our mattress is amazing. My boyfriend usually wakes up in the middle of the night, but hasn't done so since we bought this mattress. I've also noticed that I can fall asleep a lot faster. The mattress itself is a bit on the thick side. We have a platform bed & with this mattress it looks as if we have a box spring underneath it. Our fitted sheet fits pretty snugly over the mattress, but it doesn't look bad at all. Really though, with the awesome sleep I am getting, I could care less. If anything, we don't have to worry about readjusting our fitted sheet, as most people have to do every now & then with a thinner mattress. Overall, I am happy with my experience & the product. It was a genuine high-five moment for us to score such a high quality mattress for such a good price. Everyone needs to buy their mattress from here. Thank you, Texas Mattress Makers, for helping me get a good night's sleep.
    - Paris J.

  • 10/02/135 star matress store review
    This store deserves a review and this is my first one ever - woohoo! We went to Texas Mattress Makers after reading Valerie S. review here on Yelp. I had been looking at buying a mattress at Costco or a similar store. Not being able to try them however is a drawback. We like firm, but what if you get a rock? you get it, not good. So we went to this place, a "factory", because that is basically what it is, a wholesaler also selling to the public that "happens to find them". Love these experiences - good and fun for the kids too to see the place where they make these mattresses from scratch! They have a great showroom inside, where you can test all the beds. The sales manager (Lax) was very knowledgeable and gave us great advice. We ended up buying two full mattresses (for the kids), with a bunkie board to support the mattress, which can be put in a bed frame. And a californian king for us, top of the range, and boy it has been worth every cent. Delivery was very well arranged with confirmation phone calls the day prior and an hour ahead. Big clean truck, nice and helpful delivery guys who set everything up. Definitely worth a visit this store. I was so happy with finding this gem of a place via yelp that I feel I have to pay it forward by posting a review!
    - Patty B.

  • 04/15/135 star matress store review
    This place is definitely off the beaten path, but so worth the trip to find it. The outside is marked as Noah's Manufactures. The store is attached to the warehouse, so don't expect all the bells and whistles like the competitor mattress stores. They make all mattresses on site, which is great to support the local economy. They have a showroom with about 25 mattress, from high end to low end. Our sales person was extremely knowledgeable in mattresses, from construction to how a particular person's sleep habits will effect their mattress purchase. We found a king mattress for under $600 (including shipping and taxes!). I mean what a steal! Ashley Furniture had a very basic mattress for $900, and that did not include shipping and taxes. The only star deduction is the delivery. There was a mix up and they didn't load the correct mattress on the truck, so our delivery was delayed by a day. Not too much of a big deal, but still should be noted. I have been getting the best sleep since we have had the mattress. Thanks Texas Mattress Makers!
    - Valerie S.

 

 

 

 

 



  • blog icon
  • yelp icon
  • pinterest icon
  • facebook icon
  • twitter icon
  • youtube icon
  • google + icon

© 2015 Texas Mattress Makers, All Rights Reserved.
4619 Navigation Blvd. Houston, Texas 77011
Email Us Today! | 713.341.6252